On air
  • RFI English Live
  • Latest Bulletin
  • RFI French Live

RFI Ghislaine Dupont Claude Verlon France Journalists Madagascar Mali Media France and the world

Issued on • Modified

Second annual Dupont and Verlon scholarship awarded

RFI director Cécile Mégie with Ando Rakotovoahangy and Hanitriniony Jhons Marry Ralainarivo in Antananarivo on 2 November 2015 FIREFLIES / Felana Rajaonarivelo

Two media professionals in Madagascar have won scholarships commemorating murdered RFI journalists Ghislaine Dupont and Claude Verlon. Ando Rakotovoahangy et Hanitriniony Jhons Marry Ralainarivo have been awarded the 2015 Dupont-Verlon memorial prize for journalism.

The awarding of the 2015 Dupont-Verlon memorial prize for journalism comes two years after the two RFI journalists were murdered in Kidal in northern Mali. Both cases remain unsolved.

Ando Rakotovoahangy is a journalist. Hanitriniony Jhons Marry Ralainarivo is a radio technician.

This is the scholarship's second annual awarding.